Book Themes (My $.05)

 

Romeo and Juliet

Coming from the romance genre I think I’m more aware of themes in a book and how as authors we all take a crack at themes (i.e. rags to riches, bad boys/bad girls, love on the run, etc….). I mean how many times has Romeo and Juliet themed books been done? You know, two young and tortured lovers who wanted to be together but couldn’t because of a major external conflict (family drama, coming from different worlds, race, etc.). Hell, I can think of a dozen right off the top. lol.

Trust me, I wanted to lay my nickel on the counter about this because after ten years of being published, I can admit that I had to tell myself that in the beginning if I saw a book even a little like mine. I had to have a conversation with myself and it went a little something like this: “Whoa chick, just chill, hell you read a book with this same premise twenty years ago so how you going to flex.”  lol.

Anyway, my advice as a writer is not to worry about the bare bones and make it your business as an author/storyteller/book attention seeker and receiver to add your unique layers (your voice, your timing, your way of telling a story, your character development, your emotions) that fleshes the book out as only you can.

As I said on Facebook–and I’ll say it again:

When it comes to story lines, it’s all been done before and will be done again. The difference? The delivery.

About Niobia Bryant

Nationally bestselling author. Also writes as Meesha Mink.
This entry was posted in The Industry (Through my Eyes) and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.